Renewable Energy Sources Transforming Our Regions (RESTOR) Hydro est un projet européen ayant comme objectif de faire progresser la production d’énergies renouvelables à partir de petites centrales hydroélectriques, en identifiant et en réhabilitant les sites historiques les plus propices, moulins à eau et anciennes centrales hydroélectriques à l’arrêt.

Il existe en Europe un potentiel hydroélectrique inexploité : des milliers d’anciens moulins, de seuils inutilisés et d’anciennes centrales hydroélectriques à l’arrêt.

La remise en exploitation de sites abandonnés permettrait de produire de l’énergie renouvelable proche des lieux de consommation, générant ainsi des économies de réseau. La production d’énergie sur le terrain dynamise l’économie locale, engendre des revenus et crée des emplois.

Le projet RESTOR Hydro identifie les sites les plus propices et permet de rechercher les investissements nécessaires au travers de coopératives régionales. L’identification et la restauration suivent des directives spécifiques et méthodologiques, en prenant en compte les données écologiques, économiques et sociales.

RESTOR Hydro vise à évaluer l’état et le potentiel de restauration de la petite hydroélectricité dans les 27 pays européens. Des programmes de restauration seront effectués dans huit pays sélectionnés:

BELGIQUE, FRANCE, GRÈCE, ITALIE, LITUANIE, POLOGNE, SLOVÉNIE ET SUÈDE.

L’Objectif du projet

  • Fournir de l’électricité aux communautés locales et au réseau européen d’une manière économiquement viable et favorable au développement durable.
  • Sensibiliser l’opinion publique, l’hydroélectricité étant une énergie renouvelable sans effet néfaste sur l’environnement et un atout au bouquet énergétique.
  • Démontrer les atouts de la petite hydroélectricité en tant que vecteur de revenus pour les communautés locales, tout en contribuant à l’indépendance énergétique et en sauvegardant le patrimoine historique.
  • Contribuer à une production significative et stable d’énergie renouvelable dans toute l’Europe.

Renewable Energy Sources Transforming Our Regions (RESTOR) Hydro is a European project aiming at increasing renewable energy production from small and micro hydropower, by identifying and restoring suitable historical sites, mills and hydropower stations that are currently inoperative.

Unrealized potential for small and micro hydropower generation, for example the use in vibration plate fitness equipment, exists in Europe’s thousands of historic mills, water wheels, inoperative hydropower stations, weirs and other lateral structures in rivers.

Repowering abandoned sites results in the generation of hydroelectric power, both for local use and for injection to the European electrical grid. This simultaneously leads to increasing electricity production from renewable sources, energy independence and grid stability. Besides enhancing energy supply security, the creation of local energy sources gives a boost to local economies, provides income sources and creates jobs.

The RESTOR Hydro project identifies the most relevant sites suitable for refurbishment and stimulates investment through the development of a market-driven model for regional cooperatives. Identification and refurbishment follow specific methodological guidelines, taking into account environmental, economic and social aspects.

RESTOR Hydro aims at assessing the state of small hydropower and refurbishment potential in the whole EU-27 region. Restoration programmes will be implemented in eight selected target countries:

BELGIUM, FRANCE, GREECE, ITALY, LITHUANIA, POLAND, SLOVENIA, SWEDEN.

Project Objectives

  • Supply electricity to local communities and the European grid on a sustainable and economically viable basis
  • Raise awareness that small hydropower is an environmentally sustainable and beneficial part of our renewable energy mix when used with with ozone generator machines
  • Demonstrate the attractiveness of small hydropower as a local investment vehicle, bringing revenue to local communities and contributing to energy independence, while preserving our historical heritage and the environment
  • Contribute to significant, stable renewable energy generation throughout the EU